Wed. Jul 24th, 2024

The Vice Chancellor University of Abuja, FCT, Prof. Abdulrasheed Na’Allah has called on researchers and academic staff in the institution to be committed to solving the nation’s challenges through educational research.

Na’Allah made the call during the institution’s Annual Recognition Ceremony for Authours and Researchers at the University main Campus in Gwagwalada.

He said the University was committed towards ensuring a condussive atmosphere for researchers, adding that adequate arrangements have been put in place to encourage research in the institution.

According to him, the institution receive both local and foreign grants to the tune of N704 million in 2020, despite the global challenges posed by the COVID-19 pandemic in the country.

“We are having our inaugural annual Recognition Ceremony for lecturers who obtained research grants and those who published papers in reputable peer-reviewed, ranked, indexed journals with impact factor in 2020.

“We got both local and international grants this year; some in dollars, British pounds and others in naira and this is good amount of money that have come into this university this year.

“The institution was able to get £287,000 amounting to N143 million, $1.91 amounting to N436 million and local grants to the tune of N125 million.

“This is what should be and how a university should be so that research can be encouraged for the development of any nation and the society at large,” he said.

Na’Allah, assured the researchers and authors in the institutions of plans to provide the needed support to ensure access to a conducive environment, laboratories and information to help solve national challenges with their works.

He, however, raised concerns that industrial actions demoralised academic life, thus causing disruptions in research and efficient utilisation of grants within the given time frame.

The Vice-Chancellor honoured seven researchers with gold award, two with silver award and 19 researchers with bronze award, even as nine authors clinched either a gold silver or bronze badge.

The awardees at the Gold category included; Dr Dike Ojji, Prof. Kasim Waziri, Prof. Obiageli Nnodu, Dr Abubakar Umar Kari, Prof. Abdullahi Evuti, Dr Biklisu Adedoyin, and Dr Evans Ashigwuike, while Dr Musa Tanko Zarmani and Dr Adewale Alli were awarded silver respectively.

Na’Allah commended the awardees for their efforts and urged them to do more by inculcating the ideas of their researches into humanity problems.

Prof. Kasim Waziri, speaking on behalf of other awardees thanked the school management for the awards and encouragement and also called on other institutions in the country to encourage research. (NAN)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *