Sun. Apr 21st, 2024

Pesident Muhammadu Buhari has accepted the immediate resignation of the Service Chiefs and their retirement from service.

Mr Femi Adesina, the President’s spokesman confirmed this development in a statement in Abuja on Tuesday.

Those involved are the Chief of Defence Staff, General Abayomi Olonisakin; Chief of Army Staff, Lt-Gen. Tukur Buratai; Chief of Naval Staff, Vice Admiral Ibok Ekwe Ibas and Chief of Air Staff, Air Marshal Sadique Abubakar.

President Buhari thanked the outgoing Service Chiefs for what he called their “overwhelming achievements in our efforts at bringing enduring peace to our dear country’’

He wished them well in their future endeavours.

Meanwhile, the President has approved the appointment of new Service Chiefs.

They are Maj.-Gen. Leo Irabor, Chief of Defence Staff; Maj.-Gen. I. Attahiru, Chief of Army Staff; Rear Adm. A. Z. Gambo, Chief of Naval Staff and AVM I.O. Amao, Chief of Air Staff.

The President congratulated the new service chiefs and urged them to be loyal and dedicated in the discharge of their responsibilities. 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *