Wed. Mar 29th, 2023

By Gami Tadanyigbe

The University of Abuja Teaching Hospital (UATH) in Gwagwalada, FCT, has honoured over fifty nine staffers and seven cooperate organisations for hardwork, dedication, excellence and positive impact to the development of the hospital.

Prof. Bissala Ekele, Chief Medical Director (CMD) of the hospital, at the presentation of the 5th Staff Annual Award Ceremony 2022 said the tradition for reward for hardwork is aimed at encouraging and inspiring workers to give their best in the line of duty.

According to him, the reward system was introduced in 2018 to encourage mass participation of the staffers, through a committee set up by the Management of the hospital.

“The introduction in 2018 of the staff award was to celebrate staffers and partners and contributors to the development of the hospital, approved by the board of the hospital.

“Besides, the successes of the health tertiary institution was the buisness of all and we are all winners for success.

“I commend the Board, Management and former Chief Medical Directors, Ag CMD for their supports and contributions to the physical and other developement of the hospital,” he said.

However, Prof. Ekele also eulogisesd the Chairman of the Board, Dr Sam Sam Jaja, for attracting various developmental projects to the health institution, saying “Even the blind can see the unique projects all around.”

The CMD congratulated the recipients of the year 2022 award for making the hospital proud, saying more will be required from them in the course of their service to the hospital.

However, he revealed that staffers that won the yearly award were carefully selected under a committee that selected best staff award and best department award.

The Board Chairman, Dr Sam Sam Jaja, who congratulated the awardees said it was aimed at motivating staffers in the course of carrying out their legitimate jobs, saying the winners should be challenged to do more for the hospital.

He urged them to put in more efforts to make the hospital symbol of health Institution among the tertiary health Institutions in Nigeria, saying he expected them to put in more efforts in the coming years.

Dr Jaja commended the paramount ruler of Gwagwalada, the Aguma of Gwagwalada for his supports, peaceful co-existence to the development of the hospital.

The News Agency of Nigeria (NAN) reports that Dr Samson Olori won the maiden award of the hospital for separation of conjoined twins in 2018 , a record not broken after sometimes by the National hospital.

Others are, Mrs Joy Kaura, as the best staff, Information and Public Relations 2022, Prof. Felicia Anumah overall best staff 2021 for attracting various developmental projects to the hospital.

Best Staff of the Year 2022 was won by Mr. Nimfa Zwalbong and the Best Department of the Year 2022 won by the Pharmacy Department.

Also, Dr Vivian Kwaghe for hardwork 2020 at the heat of COVID- I9 pandemic in the country, while Dr Dike Ojijo for dedication and excellence in 2019. (NAN)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.